Jack Schweiker Composite Squadron
Main Content

Our History

About Jack Schweiker Squadron

Jack Schweiker Composite Squadron (NJ-059) is headquartered at the NJ Army National Guard Armory in Cherry Hill.  Schweiker is a composite squadron in Civil Air Patrol, which means it has both an active cadet program and is operationally capable to perform CAP's emergency services missions.  Schweiker Squadron meets on Monday nights from 1900 (7 pm) to 2100 (9 pm).

Schweiker Squadron began in the 1940s as the Gloucester County Cadet Squadron and, in its 50+ year history, has met at airports, government facilities, schools and even churches.  In the early 1960s, the squadron amended its charter to become the Gloucester County Composite Squadron.  During the late 1970s, the squadron's meeting locations moved to Camden County, but retained the Gloucester County name.  Early in the 1990s, as the unit's home was now clearly Camden County, and after considering several different possibilities, the unit was renamed to honor former commander, Capt Jack Schweiker, CAP, who succumbed to a heart attack while performing a CAP Search and Rescue (SAR) mission.  The squadron has been instrumental in establishing other units throughout New Jersey Wing, including:  Cape May County Composite Squadron; the Camden Cadet Flight (now Atlantic County Composite Squadron), and; the Air Victory Museum Composite Squadron at South Jersey Regional Airport (VAY) in Lumberton.  The squadron moved to its' current home at the Cherry Hill National Guard Armory in 1998.


The squadron's motto is Primus Inter Pares, Latin for "first among equals".  Jack Schweiker Composite Squadron has led the way for New Jersey Wing over its' 50 year history, and we truly think of ourselves as one of the leading CAP units in New Jersey Wing.


Accomplishments & Honors:

2020      NER Outstanding Unit of the Year Award

2016      NJ Wing Squadron of Merit

2007      NJ Wing Squadron of Merit

2002      Unit Citation (part of CAP Northeast Region unit citation for performance after 9/11)

1999      Northeast Region Squadron of Distinction

1999      National Squadron of Merit

Distinguished Alumni:  
Capt Jack Schweiker   The squadron's namesake.
Cadet Clyde Benfold 

Former cadet who received the nation's highest award for valor -- the Medal of Honor while serving as a Navy Corpsman during the Korean Conflict.

Lt Col Marianne Ferland  Lt Col Ferland began her CAP service at Schweiker and went on to be the Northeast Region Chief of Staff



Col Cornelius "Mike" Flynn         Col Flynn began his CAP service at Schweiker and went on to command NJ Wing (2002 - 2004)

Capt David Maver V                      Capt Maver earned the Carl Spaatz award #1628, and was the National Cadet of the Year in 2006.

Col Robert McCabe                       Col McCabe began his CAP service at Schweiker and went on to command NJ Wing (2005 - 2009)

Col David Mull                               Col Mull began his CAP service with Schweiker, was the NER Vice Commander from 2005 - 2009, and                                                                        the NJ Wing Commander from 2009-2013

Lt Col Jennifer Rudolph               Lt Col Jennifer Rudolph, a former cadet and USAF Academy student, earned the 2007 NJ Wing and                                                                            NER John V. "Jack" Sorenson Cadet Programs Officer of the Year award

Lt Col Edward "Ted" Schober     Squadron Commander, 1992 - 1994.  Former Group 225 Commander and NJ Wing Vice Commander                                                                           and Chief of Staff, Delaware Wing

Lt Col Dennis Walton                   Lt Col Walton was the Squadron Commander for more than 12 years, from 1994 to 2006, served as the                                                                         Group 225 Commander.  Lt Col Walton has also been honored as the NJ Wing and NER                                                                               Senior Member of the Year and received the Brig Gen F. Ward Reilly award in 1999

Past Commanders:

Jack Schweiker Cadet/Composite Squadron

1st Lt Amanda N. Sperry          19 December 2022 - present

Capt Timothy W. Sperry           17 December 2018 - 19 December 2022

1st Lt Julio Pastoriza                  18 July 2018 - 17 December 2018

1st Lt Renee A. Messina             7 June 2017 - 18 July 2018

Lt Col Andre Ferland                   9 December 2013 7 June 2017

Lt Col Robert Jennings               2010 - 9 December 2013

Capt Donald Cameron                 2009 - 2010

Maj Robert Eboch                        2006 - 2009

Maj Dennis Walton                      1994 - 2006

Lt Col Edward Schober               1992 - 1994

Maj Dominik Urso                      

Capt Bryon Schweiker                 1988- 1992


Gloucester County Cadet Squadron (29059, NJ-059)

Maj Wayne Ingling                        1984 -1986

Maj Elwood Alfred                        1981 - 1984

Capt Jack Schweiker                    November 1976 - 1978

Maj Alfred Elwood                         April 1970- May 1976

Arthur Haynes                               March 1970

Maj Walter E. Stanton                   1961-1968


Past Cadet Commanders:
C/Lt Col Brycen Pedrick               2020 - Present

C/Maj Santo C. Messina II            2019 - 2020

C/LtCol Alyrica Lackey                 2018 - present

C/LtCol Chance Euchler               2017 - 2018

C/1st Lt Kevin Lauer                     2017

C/1st Lt Elisabeth Lackey            2016 - 2017

C/Lt Col David DeBenedictis       2015 - 2016

C/Maj Domenico Vacanti              2014 - 2015

C/CMSgt John Bohem                  2013 - 2014

C/2nd Lt Michael Navarro             2012 - 2013

C/2nd Lt Jason Trommer              2011 - 2012

C/1st Lt Nicholas Birbilis              2010 - 2011

C/2nd Lt Donald Cameron, III       2009 - 2010         

C/Capt Nicholas Jennings            2008 - 2009

C/2nd Lt Zachary Thibault            2007 - 2008

C/Capt Paul Jennings                   2005 - 2007

C/Maj Dave Maver                         2004 - 2005


Schweiker members who attended U.S. Military Academies:

Domenico Vacanti                      U.S. Air Force Academy, Class of 2019

Holly Harrington                         U.S. Military Academy, Class of 2016

Nicholas Birbilis                         U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Class of 2015

Stephen Groff                             U.S. Air Force Academy, Class of 2012

Brad Smith                                  U.S. Air Force Academy, Class of 2012

Andrew Borders                         U.S. Air Force Academy, Class of 2010

Jennifer Rudolph                       U.S. Air Force Academy, Class of 1998


Schweiker members awarded the General Carl "A" Spaatz Award

C/Col David Maver V               February 2007 #1628

C/Col David DeBenedictis      July 2016 #2054

C/Col Chance Euchler            August 2019 #2252

© 2023 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.